Cooking a homemade meal

Leisure

Sounds easy but it wasn’t for me in the last few months. I am not a chef. I cannot be stressed and cook. When I am stressed, I reduce my food consumption to the very basic (noodles, whipped cream, bread, cheese, … ) or I eat out. That is not healthy in the long term.

I like cooking, I really do. Cooking is learning, too. But I also like feeling Sunday when I am cooking. A friend once made a joke and said: “I know the sun has to shine and the birds have to sing … . ”

So tonight, after my 7:30 p.m. student had cancelled his class, I went to the supermarket. The buy-and-easily-fry-dumplings trick did not work this time. All sold out! So I thought, what if I cooked tonight. And I went on Chefkoch.de, a German cookery website. So useful, but sometimes the recipes just don’t work for Brazil. I remember that time when I was desperately trying to find canned pineapples in a supermarket and only after two minutes I realized that I live in a country where they don’t need to can the pineapples because they grow them and they get freshly into the supermarket. The dish I prepared that day did of course not taste as good without all the sugar you’d find in canned pineapples.

Back to tonight: I went online and found a simple fish-recipe. Something fast, 40 minutes of preparation time and I had all ingredients at home aside from the fish. Even if I was stressed in the beginning, I started to feel very relaxed after cutting all the necessary vegetables and setting the timer for the oven. When my sweetheart comes back from Rio tonight, he is going to have a homemade meal prepared by *me* (usually he is the chef in our relationship). Uffa!

Bom Apetite (Portuguese)!

Kika

fish dish

Leave a Reply

