But I tried

Memories

When walking uphill this morning I remembered this scene from the movie One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest where McMurphy is trying to lift a heavy sink  to throw it out of the window and to leave the loony bin with his fellows.

And of course the stone sink is too heavy and he can’t. In the end he says: But I tried.

In my life I had many small and big wishes. And sometimes something worked out and sometimes it did not. But the most important thing is, that I tried. Only when you try to go for your goals will you find out if they were for you.

This is true for studies, jobs, relationships, moves and anything that brings change into your life. Don’t be passive and don’t accept what others have in mind for you. If you want to be an actor, an architect, walk the Tibetan Plateau or move to Fordwich in England, whatever it might be, you should always try. You have a good chance that things will work out. And if not, you can still say: “But I tried, damn it. At least I did that” and make peace with life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

